My Thoughts Exactly for EDC!!


I travel daily..From semi rural, small town into the ‘big’ city of Mpls…well actually Robbinsdale, but close enough..And sine my commute is 49 miles each way..I am prepared, but not. Because I have what I need to get home in my vehicle..It would take a bit to assemble everything..
SO I have thought about a bag…or a vest and have been assembling one…Now this looks promising..

What’s in Your EDC? by Robert Hawkins
You remember how your Mom’s purse was a bottomless pit of supplies? How she could pull out Band-Aid’s, bobbipins, handkerchief, roadmap, cash and coins, chewing gum, tennis shoes, on & ON! Any “emergency”she was ready. She’d reach in & pull out a remedy or diversion, or some day-saving device that would be just what was needed in the nick of time. Kinda like having a hardware store in a handbag.
So all that “stuff” was her “EDC”, her “Every Day Carry“, all the stuff she’d regularly, not so regularly, or never-knows-when…all available in a moment. Yeah, that’s what you’ll find in a purse, handbag, or daybag…problem is no self-respecting Prepper would want to tote a purse, so you get imaginative…

In my case, I got a VEST!

Outside of Wallet & Car Keys, what you carry on you as you walk out into the world can be as wide ranging as different grains of sand. As much as each person has individual needs, so too will be the inventory of “stuff” you may assemble. But there are common basics. A knife, or scissors, a band-aid or two, something to make fire, “pin money”…there’s more, but you get the idea.
The items that make up YOUR EDC, are items YOU think you may need… needed for “whatever”.

vestyhawk
With a look like I kissed the wrong end of a baby, I face the day…

So here’s my EDC… I always admired those professional photographer type Khaki vest’s with bulging pockets… LOTS of pockets. And so being such a clothes horse… NOT! I have no regrets leaving the house each morning looking like I’m heading off on Safari.
That vest holds quite a haul…

312.jpg
(clockwise) Shortwave AM/FM radio, sugar glucose tablets, Swiss Army Knife, checkbook, poncho, ID Cards, Firestarter kit (with matches, firesteel, lighter,& tinder), keychain screwdriver & phillips, ink pen, photo memory cards, oloclip lens kit, USB card reader, mechanical pencil.

There’s some considerable weight there… likely 15 lbs of gear all together. But looking at me you can telll I’m accustomed to carrying some weight… With everything squirreled away in pockets all over, the biggest problem I deal with is me beating myself up patting all around for whatever I’m looking for.

ponchohawk
Just in case my porch roof leaks,(it HAS in the past), I’m PREPARED!

Whatever you feel you need out and about can be easily carried with you with planning, ingenuity, and creativity. Regardless you use a vest, backpack, handbag or Uhaul trailer, make your Every Day Carry neat, tidy, compact and prepared!

Leave a Reply

