Dad..


Doing better last I heard…Will check in with him later…

My sister whom is a writer of some sorts posted this about Dad and his Korean War experiences of which he has related to me more often especially when while we are Deer Hunting.

I remember this one, story is he also received a battle field promotion and a commendation of some sort for manning the machine gun. Was either Heartbreak or Bloody Ridge..

The next day or the day after, I had taken over a machine gun, nobody was on it, I took it over on top of the ridge. We did not go into attack that day. In the afternoon, I looked over to my left and I saw Rex Blow laying there. I called to him. No answer. So I crawled over there to where he was and kept calling to him and no answer. I go next to Rex and said, “Rex, what’s up.” his eyes are wide open, he looks like he’s just lying there.
Then I see it, a bullet hole right there (Dad indicates the middle of his forehead between his eyes). I closed his eyes for him. I’m sure he was doing what he was supposed to be doing and a sniper just got him.
I called to the medic and said, we’re got a dead man here, you’d better come and get him.” I crawled back to my position. Then I saw two men coming to get him.
The last I saw of Rex, he was being carried down the hill.

My Dad always was and is one tough cookie..

Leave a Reply

